2014  Alumni Banquet

The 2014 Alumni Banquet was held on Saturday, June 21, 2014 at the Oneonta Holiday Inn.

View the Banquet program

View the evening’s presentation

View the presentation as a slide show

View photos taken at the banquet

Registration and a social hour began at 5:00 PM in the restaurant/lounge area.  At 6:00 PM we moved to the main ballroom for dinner.  After the Pledge of Allegiance, Joan Eggleston Young led the MCS Alma Mater and an Invocation was offered by Merle Olmstead.  

Following dinner, the evening's presentations began.  Due to a medical emergency, the Association President, Hugo Beck, was absent, and Pat Young Winsor, the Association Vice President, presided.  

Alumni in attendance were recognized, with special recognition given to

  • Earliest Class Year  - Niles Eggleston 1935

  • Most Recent Class Year  - James Mattison 1998 (Scholarship winners were excepted)

  • Furthest Traveled - Harold Hanson 1959  Bonita Springs, FL (1427 Miles via I-95)

Niles was presented a Lifetime Achievement Award for his dedication to Milford Central School and its students. He has been a steadfast and generous supporter of the Alumni Association and its Scholarship program.  The award is well-earned.  

A highlight of the night for everyone was the presentation of the scholarship awards to our honored-graduate guests, Kaley Chase and Natasha Skillen. Kaley was awarded the 2014 Valedictorian Scholarship and Natasha received the  2014 Excellence Award Scholarship.  Kaley and Natasha both gave short acceptance remarks and told us about their future plans.  We were impressed by each of them and are  fortunate to have had them in attendance to receive their awards.   

The next event of the evening was the business meeting. The Business Meeting Agenda is included in the presentation linked above..  

Two votes were taken and passed.

The first vote was to amend the Alumni Association Bylaws so as to qualify the association for charitable status as a 501(c)(3) organization, thereby making donations to the Alumni Association tax deductible. In part, the amendment states that the purpose of the organization is to support education through scholarships and that the association is not-for-profit.  As recommended during the meeting, the amendment was modified, adding back "to promote the spirit of alumni unity and camaraderie" to the ammended purpose.

The second vote approved the slate of next year’s officers (2014/2015).

President - Patricia Young Winsor (1968)

Vice President - Sandy Eggleston Andrews (1970)

Secretary - Open

Treasurer - Sharon Strait-Carey (1967)

Website Manager - Hugo Beck (1963)

Remarks were made concerning the 2014 banquet.  Everyone was encouraged to complete the surveys which will be used by the committee to help plan future banquets. .

The Scholarship Program was discussed, and we are appreciative of this year’s donations.  We are particularly grateful to Jane Shempf Sherman (1947) for her donation of a beautiful hand-made quilt (that she had personally made), at last year’s banquet.  The quilt was purchased by a member of the alumni and the proceeds gave a welcome boost to the Alumni Association Scholarship Fund.

A 50/50 drawing was held and the winner was Viola Leach Ploutz (1962).  Caroline Kubis Muehl (1963) won a consolation gift basket donated by Sharry Strait-Carey.

Music, dancing and conversation followed until nearly midnight.  Special thanks are again due to Rick Cornish for his work as our DJ for the evening.  We're most fortunate to have him and we appreciate his generosity and long-time support of the Alumni Association.

Thanks to all who attended.  We hope you all had a great time and that we'll see many of you again next year.